11
Nov
08

Lighten up, Francis

After reading some of the comments around the blogosphere about Georgia football, I feel I need to considerably lighten the mood around here.  While it felt awfully good to feel bad about Saturday’s game, Kyle brings up at least one good point: “an S.E.C. road win against a bowl-bound opponent is an S.E.C. road win against a bowl-bound opponent.”  I have seen the collective groaning about the team and even participated in it myself.

Now part of my mood is based on the weather here in Central Illinois.  Illinois has a cold that isn’t just normal cold.   I call it wet cold.  Something about the dampness that makes 32°F just feel colder (that is what the temperature was when I left my office last evening, sans coat).   Add in the constant 20mph wind that blows from the north or northwest from early November until April, you have all the makings of an unhappy Georgian.

I only talk about the weather here to point out that in my third “fall” here, I actually am happier with the football season from an objective standpoint that I was this time last year and certainly during my first fall here in 2006.  While it was good to beat Florida last year, the Tennessee and South Carolina losses were gut wrenching, drunk inspiring shitshows that just made me think perhaps team football was too much of a concept for our players and coaches to grasp.  In 2006…well, you can’t lose to Vandy at homecoming, then just get physically manhandled by UK and think things are good.

Don’t get me wrong.  I hate the way Georgia has played at times this year.  I hate that I drove 12 hours with three children under four years old to see the Dawgs give up 31 points by halftime.  I hate even more seeing Tim Tebow smile in Jacksonville and Urban Meyer call a time out because Emanual Moody was ‘running it pretty good.’  I hate that I was excited Georgia won a nail biter in Lexington.  However, if we are going to lose football games, which I hate to see happen anyway, I would rather lose them to two of the top four teams in the country than to Vandy and UK and South Carolina.  I hate that in hindsight the game in Knoxville last year was THE one to save Phil Fulmer’s job.

I think I’ll harken back to my friend Kyle’s point:

let us leave the concerns in need of addressing—and there certainly are some—for the offseason. For now, we have two regular-season rivalry games and a bowl game to play, so let’s focus our energy on ensuring that the season ends the way a URL begins: W, W, W.

Georgia has the opportunity to finish in the top 10, with an 11 win season.  The Dawgs are in a position to tie the longest winning streak in the Georgia Tech series at eight.  The Dawgs are in a position to put three in a row on Auburn, something that hasn’t happened since 1980-82.  The Dawgs are likely to be called on to show the Big 10 a thing or two about speed.

I am as disapointed as the next rabid fan that the season of great promise hasn’t panned out as we had hoped.  However, I am happy to be a Dawg and have faith in CMR to address the concerns that need addressing during the offseason, even if we never really find out what those steps are.

Now back to your regularly scheduled hand wringing.  I’ll probably do the same.

Go Dawgs!

3 Responses to “Lighten up, Francis”


  1. November 11, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    A much needed boost of optimism. But when I think about Prince Miller blowing that punt return, or the 96 yard kick off return, I go straight back to pessimism about the rest of the season.

  2. November 11, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I wouldn’t count that Georgia Tech win just yet.

  3. 3 bulldoginexile
    November 11, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Oh, I haven’t counted anything yet. I am well aware of the potential offense GT brings to the table. I was merely making a point about what is left to play for. Nice pictures of your NC trip by the way. Thanks for reading. I’ll be worry about taunting you next week.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

