13
Nov
08

views on the bowl picture

With a mere three weeks before the last weekend of the season, here are my views on the bowls. Keep in mind, this isn’t what I want to happen, this is what I think will happen:

BCS Championship

Florida vs. Texas Tech: I don’t like it, I don’t want it to happen, and I hope I am eating a big bowl of crow in December.  At least I have the wardrobe to root for the Raiders.

Rose Bowl

Oregon State vs. Ohio State: Look, this is the toughest one to see.  Michigan State matches up pretty well with Penn State.  Oregon State will win out.  Per the Pac-10 tie breaker rules, the Beavers get to the Rose Bowl.

Sugar Bowl

Alabama vs. USC: This is the best Ying/Yang coaching match up ever.  Whatever, dude vs. Up yours, hippie.  I love it.

Fiesta Bowl

Texas vs. Utah: I wonder if Texas linemen like Mormons?  Seriously, this would be a tougher match up for Texas than some would think.  Not Boise State/Oklahoma tough, though.

Orange Bowl

Pitt vs. Virginia Tech: Honestly, I almost put Cincy and West Virginia in there.  For some reason, I went with Wanstache to pull something out to win the Big East.  I have to say, this is easily the worst BCS game ever, if I am right.

Back of the napkin picks for other bowls involving the SEC:

Capitol One Bowl: Georgia vs. Penn State

Outback Bowl: Kentucky vs. Iowa

Cotton Bowl: LSU vs. Oklahoma

Peach Bowl: South Carolina vs. Florida State

Music City Bowl and Liberty Bowl:  Look for Ole Miss and Vandy to be the teams that could end up in these IF they get eligible.  I predict Ole Miss will and Vandy probably will.  I am guessing Vandy won’t play in Nashville since they don’t normally fill their stadium for home games and LP Stadium is much bigger than Vandy Stadium.  If only one team makes it, the Music City gets the first bite.  That’s probably Ole Miss vs. Georgia Tech.

PapaJohn’s Bowl and Independence Bowl: Yeah, go ahead and find Sun Belt teams for these.

Thoughts?

4 Responses to “views on the bowl picture”


  1. November 13, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I’d take Georgia – Penn State. That would be a great one to watch!

  2. 2 Oshea2002
    November 13, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    obviously if we can’t make the NC, I want out of the Rose Bowl for once. I think maybe the Fiesta would have the pick before the sugar though, in which case it’d be SC v. Texas in AZ

  3. 3 bulldoginexile
    November 13, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I think you get your wish. The Beavers look like they will win out and I don’t see anyway to keep USC out. If the Big 10 goes like I think it will, then the Trojans get their shot. Even if it is Penn State, I see USC as an at-large team over Ohio State.

  4. 4 Oshea2002
    November 14, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    SC’s a lock for BCS bid over Ohio State, better record and won by 30. There’s a good chance SC also finishes 3rd in the BCS, so that’s an auto bid.

    I do disagree about Oregon State winning out, I can’t see it. They’re struggling w/o Moevao, barely beat ASU at home, and were tied 3-3 with ucla at the half last week.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

