14
Nov
08

Ah, the weekend

With the first snow of the year predicted tomorrow in Central Illinois and my fourth Saturday travel day this football season (seriously, I don’t know what people are thinking setting meetings that would necessitate football Saturday travel), I had prepared to do a full post on the game tomorrow, complete with three things.  Then I read this.

The Senator has the same three thoughts I did about the game.   Georgia’s offense will run up points, NO WAY the special teams are as bad as they showed last week (special bonus for predicting we’ll see Knowshon return punts), and if we can get Kodi Burns into a passing game, good things will happen.  I am not sure if that is an indictment of his skills or a compliment of mine, but I like being in the same boat with the Senator.

The only thing I would add to that is that I am not sure we can get Kodi Burns into a passing game.  Our run defense against mobile QBs is suspect, as evidenced last week.  That doesn’t mean I think it’ll look like a Div II championship game out there, but I do think Auburn will move just enough, stay just close enough early, that any interceptions will come later when the outcome is solidly decided.

Expect to see the AJ and MoMass show.  I am guessing Bobo saw enough last week to know he has plenty of toys, so why worry about misdirection and underneath screens.   That’s what a quality running game is for. Knowshon easily gets his 125 and a TD.  Whatever FB is playing will get his 3 or 4 catches and a TD on a dive.  Mr. Stafford has another 300 yard game on several down field shots.

I saw this and had to include it (bold face thieving from GSB alert, with PWD’s alert that he got it from Georgiadogs.com Gxtra).

Finally, I have to leave you with the quote of the week from Dawgnoxious at the Georgia Sports Blog:

“I feel terrible we gave Rod Smith a hurtful feeling in his heart. I hope the pain did not radiate all the way down to his uterus.”

Seriously.

Go Dawgs!

1 Response to “Ah, the weekend”


  1. November 14, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I hope y’all are right, but I’ve got a bad feeling in my bones about this one.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

