28
Nov
08

Ah, the weekend – special Tek weekend round up

Ok, sorry I have been ignoring the Internets this week.  I have a long distance dialup connection here at my parents house.  Plus, I have been busy fishing, playing cards, fishing, chasing sons and daughters and nieces, riding trails on four wheelers, fishing, eating, smoking turkeys and pork and fishing.  I have also fished some.  However, this weekend is Tek and I would be remiss without pointing to the hyperbole that is the Georgia Tech fan base.  You know my view on this, so I wanted to point out what the rest of the Bulldog nation is thinking.

  • Let’s start with Paul Westerdawg.  He points out that it doesn’t matter that Georgia Tech wants it more, noting essentially the same thing that I did in my earlier post, that a 1-11 Tech team with a win over Georgia is a successful season to some of their fans.
  • Both he and Senator Blutarsky have great posts on the Tech fan’s wondering if they can break the record for most points by an opponent in Sanford Stadium, after hanging 41 points on Miami last Thursday night.  The delusion leaves me at a loss for words.
  • On a side note, my trip to Athens this weekend will be my 125th Georgia game.  I wish I could say it was consecutive games, but regretfully, I can’t.  It is also my 10th Georgia-Georgia Tech game.  The Dawgs are undefeated when I am in the stadium against Tech.  Now, I am not Kyle and cannot give you some great in-depth review of the history of this series when certain benchmarks are met, but I will say that I feel confident this weekend will be the 10th win against Tech with me in attendance.
  • Finally, I always get wistful on my last visit to Athens for the year, so if you see a grown man shedding one very manly tear of remembrance, it wasn’t me.  Men don’t cry in the presence of other men.

Be sure to check tomorrow for my feable attempts at moblogging from the game.

Go Dawgs!

1 Response to “Ah, the weekend – special Tek weekend round up”


  1. November 28, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Enjoy the game. Here’s hoping for number 8! Go Dawgs!


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

