08
Jan
09

Oklahoma, O-K-U!

Quinton and PWD have perfectly summed up my views on tonight’s BCS Championship game.  I come from a family that has always been SEC homers and will do the damnest things like root for Tennessee over Notre Dame (I personally wanted the game to end in a 0-0 tie with the coaches humping each other on the 50 yard line, just for kicks).

This bowl season, I guess I was rooting for Alabama in the Sugar Bowl, because I don’t personally hate Alabama and we don’t haven’t traditionally done much head to head recruiting against them, plus it would have helped me avoid the difficult task of deciding where I put Utah on my final Mumme Poll ballot.  I definitely rooted for Vandy, since they are Vandy and it is such a cute story that their intramural football team beat an ACC championship game participant.  I didn’t root for Kentucky, because I picked East Carolina in PWD’s Bowl pool.  Of course, I rooted for LSU, but only did so because of who they were playing.

Rooting for Florida because you want the SEC to ‘look’ good makes no sense to me.  A victory for the Gators means even more ego, more mouthiness, more St. Urban, more stories on what a swell guy Timmyboy is.  No one anywhere will think, “well Georgia plays in the SEC East and Florida is in the SEC East, so Georgia must be pretty good.”  No, people will say Georgia definitely will lose to Florida, because Florida in the defending national champion.  Even worse, kids on the fence about playing one place or the other will say “I can’t break any pretty crystal footballs during my visit to Athens, they’ve got TWO to break in Gainesville.”  Even people in Montana get that.

I said it the other day and I’ll say it again: I wouldn’t root for Florida if they were playing my ex-wife and her lawyers.

In the end, I have to wonder if the Big 12’s top offense can overcome their lack of defense.  I won’t be able to say this definitively until tonight, but after watching Texas and Texas Tech, the Big 12 probably got the right team from the Big 12 South into the conference championship game.

Here’s hoping Sam Bradford and company shake the Choklahoma moniker (of course, that does mean another year of Timmyboy, but we’ll worry about paying that bill later, if we have to).

Boomer Sooner!

2 Responses to “Oklahoma, O-K-U!”


  1. 1 oshea2002
    January 8, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Go Gators – expose the overrated garbage that is the Big 12. I’ve maintained 2 things all year
    1) UF and USC are the two best teams, and
    2) The Big 12 is way overrated

    I like UF by 10 or more.

  2. January 8, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Agree 100%. No way I’m pulling for the Gators. Let’s go Sooners!


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

