21
Jan
09

Don’t count your chickens before they spill your milk…or something

There is much chatter about the departure of Miami (Florida)’s defensive coordinator and the implications for Willie Martinez and his tenure at the University of Georgia.  Yes, some are excited.  Some are pensive.  Some outright plead.  However, no one in any official capacity has even remotely mentioned CWM as a candidate.

As Dawgnoxious pointed out last night, no one from south of Watkinsville has asked to talk with Coach Martinez.

A quick scan of the Miami Herald’s web page has no mention of candidates for the Defensive Coordinator’s position, with the exception of Randy Shannon retaining those duties for himself.  While I would tell him to focus on getting better at other things, like how to handle QB’s, that is his prerogative.  The only mention I could find, outside of the white hot light of Bulldog Blogging, of Willie Martinez being a candidate was in the Miami (Florida) Hurricane, the student newspaper.  With all due respect to Kyle King, Doug Gillett, Mack Williams, and countless other friends who worked at The Red and Black, it’ll take more than some sixth year senior’s late night quick write up on the departure of Miami’s defensive coordinator to get me thinking this could happen.

Also, there is a separate concern.  Will anyone we find right now be an upgrade? A push? I disagree with Mackalicious that a warm stick of butter or Carly Simon would be better at the job.  I have concerns about where the defensive side of the program is going, but if we end up getting Chizicked, I don’t think anyone will have quite the same excitement about Willie’s departure, should that happen.  For now, I’ll refrain from thinking about replacements until the Dawgs actually need one.

Of course, now that I have pointed this out, the Martinez family will show up in Coral Gables looking tan and shopping for carpet early tomorrow morning.

7 Responses to “Don’t count your chickens before they spill your milk…or something”


  1. January 21, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Would the record show I never suggested Carly Simon, the last thing I would want is my DC to do is express to me how vain I am through song. However, you are probably correct that I am wrong about the warm stick of butter…it is completely unproven against Division I offenses.

  2. 2 bulldoginexile
    January 21, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Yeah. I think I projected something I thought might be a good addition to your list when I read it.

  3. January 21, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I’d take the warm stick of butter to be honest. I think WillMart has been pretty much useless during his tenure.

  4. 4 Jimmy Cracked Corndawg
    January 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Useless? Okay, let’s compare Martinez to his predecessor, Van Gorder.

    Van “G” Willie Mar “T”
    Record 42-10 (.807) 40-12 (.769)
    10+ wins 3 3
    Bowls 3-1 3-1
    SEC Titles 1 1
    Shutouts 1 2
    PPG yield 16.17 19.67

    So the Dawgs have given up a field goal per game more under Martinez. Yeah, let’s bring back Kevin Ramsey.

  5. January 22, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Willie’s gettin’ the wrath of fans who have not yet come to grips with the fact that we were over ranked to begin 2008 and then suffered enough injuries to rival Kentucky’s post-Mumme 65 scholly team.

    Everybody should take a deep draw of their favorite bourbon, an even deeper breath, repeat the phrase “In CMR I trust” and then watch as our defense gets remarkably better in ’09.

  6. 6 bulldoginexile
    January 22, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I agree that CWM has been the lightning rod for fan discontent about the failure to meet expectations. The only problem I have with his coaching is and remains the one to two quarter lapses in intensity and scheme that seem to put the team in big hole (see Sugar Bowl against WV for a good example).
    I also agree that “In CMR I trust” is a terrific mantra.

  7. 7 Jimmy Cracked CornDawg
    January 22, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    The first couple of years into CMR’s administration, everyone loved the scheme. Maybe it’s been tweaked, but it’s still pretty much the original bill of goods. The diff is there’s no Pollack or Thomas Davis around these days.

    Of course, the WV collapse was hard to stomach (Amp, you were there!) But I saw that as more of an indictment of CMR than CWM what with Greg Blue and his “contact is not in my contract” approach that night.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

