26
Jan
09

From the corn field, special YGTBFKM* edition

Iowa color commentator Ed Podolak ‘retired’ last week after unflattering pictures were posted of him from Iowa’s trip to the Outback Bowl against South Carolina. After 20+ years on the air, he is giving it up.  Well, maybe the pictures weren’t that unflattering, except the one of him with one eye open.  The mustache is definitely unflattering, though.  After the pictures appeared, Iowa AD Gary Barta basically forced Podolak out.

Ed Podolak, you old sailor!

Ed Podolak, you old sailor!

Do what?  Let me get this correct: A grown ass man, a grown ass woman, plenty of beer, and a late night at the Hilton Steinbrenner on Dale Mabry.  Sounds like fun to me.  Seriously.  He isn’t Larry Eustachy crashing a frat party the night after a loss (don’t even get me started on that one, either).  He is the color commentator.  For a Big 10 football team.  It isn’t like he is asking college aged girls about their undies on air with the grandson of the former AD sitting in the booth with him.  That only gets you suspended, right?    My only problem with Ed is drinking Corona.  Icky stuff, if you ask me.

I know Iowans.  They drink beer like Georgians eat pork.  They drink to celebrate holidays.  They drink to combat boredom.  They drink to get out of bed.  If we were talking about Wisconsin, the stadium would be Camp Randall-Ed Podolak Stadium already.  Not that Wisconsin dudes can score that.

This is a crazy world we live in.  Yes, I know the Interweb makes everything public, but Podolak has a prior arrest (from 1997) incurred while ‘sleeping’ on the Iowa pentagram (or whatever).  Hell, I have heard about his partying.  This isn’t a shock to the Iowa administration.  The fact that the pictures ended up on the Net shouldn’t change anything.  Now, if Ms. Clairol is suing for harassment, then that is something altogether different, but she doesn’t look too pissed to me.    If anything, the pictures on the web should make him a hero to the random person in Davenport.

Sorry I am probably about a week late on this.  I have gone back and forth about this post.  However, I feel compelled to post it, mainly becasue I am in my living room, enjoying an adult beverage and this story just makes me sad.  I’m with Orson,  this has more to do with prudish ideas of the AD about drinking than the tarnished ‘image’ of ‘Iowa.’  There ain’t nowhere but up for that to go.

*YGTBFKM

7 Responses to “From the corn field, special YGTBFKM* edition”


  1. 1 Jimmy Cracked CornDawg
    January 26, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    About old girl in the picture….don’t get me wrong!

    I wonder if Ed knows basketball. He could go to work at that Christian school that just fired its coach for running up a 100-0 score on that dyslexic team.

  2. 2 bulldoginexile
    January 26, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Dude….
    According to sources (by sources, I mean certain drunks here on campus) Ed is the number one party guy in the Big 10. In my mind, losing him makes the whole conference just that much more 1972ish.

  3. January 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    You don’t know how disappointed and old I feel that I was unable to figure out “YGTBFKM” without clicking the Urban Dictionary. DAMMIT!

  4. 4 bulldoginexile
    January 26, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    It is one of the few hip acronyms I use regularly without sounding like a poser.

  5. January 27, 2009 at 4:06 am

    They both kind of look like they’re looking for something that got dropped down there.

    My five years in the midwest made me realize that midwesterners are far more prudish than I had thought.

  6. 6 bulldoginexile
    January 27, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Only certain people. The funny thing is the thought that Iowa’s image needs protecting.

  7. 7 oshea2002
    January 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    I will never understand the Midwest. Fortunately in about 6 months I won’t need to anymore.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

