29
Jan
09

Passings, part 2

If you know me at all, you know that I love all kinds of music.  However, my musical home, if you will, is and will always remain what is called Southern Rock.  I love everything from old school CDB to Molly Hatchet to the new folks like the Drive By Truckers.

Lynyrd Skynyrd is the grandaddy of them all.  Yes, I know it is cliche (but can it really be cliche if the cliche is actually about them?).  Two songs are definitely overplayed.  However, Skynyrd is the standard by which all Southern Rock is (and should be) compared, at least when you think about ‘old school’ Southern Rock.

Yesterday, Billy Powell, the keyboardist that gives you the first melodic sounds on ‘Free Bird,’  passed away in his home in Orange Park, Florida.  For my uncultured friends, Lynyrd Skynyrd was based in Jacksonville, not Alabama.  They did much of their recording at the famed Muscle Shoals Sound Studio and wrote ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ in retort to Neil Young’s ‘Southern Man.’  But they were North Florida all the way.

RIP Mr. Powell.  Heaven has one more great to play the organ up there.

6 Responses to “Passings, part 2”


  1. January 29, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Ditto on the Southern Rock – The Allmans, Skynyrd and for me in particular DBT, largely because they’re of my generation. And I got to know them pretty well while in Athens.

  2. 2 bulldoginexile
    January 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Yeah, Southern Rock Opera has gotten me through some very cold nights.

  3. 3 oshea2002
    January 29, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Going to the LSU / Bama game last year has ruined Sweet Home Alabama (roll tide roll) for me forever.

  4. February 2, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Billy Powell can play Heaven’s organ over Richard Wright’s dead body!

    …oh wait. I guess they’ll just have to share.

  5. 5 bulldoginexile
    February 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I’m guessing there are plenty of organs to play.

  6. 6 cousinwalter
    February 2, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    I saw Billy Powell sit in with a Pink Floyd cover band “Blue Floyd”


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

