30
Jan
09

Ah, the weekend – Bacon Explosion edition

Ok, we’ve all seen the pictures and websites. Last weekend, I actually did one.

It was indescribably good.  It actually got the one vegetarian at my party to break her meatless vow (five years, baby).  She’s good people, by the way, even if she doesn’t ever eat rarely, if ever, eats meat.

I described it as eating a meat omelet without that egg crap getting in the way.

Enjoy.  I did.

This alone is enough to make the thing worth it.

This alone is enough to make the thing worth it.

I chose my local store’s thick cut bacon.  The 10 or so slices was just under a pound and a quarter.  I used some Crazy Jane’s as the spice here.

Keep it cold.

Keep it cold. It'll roll better that way.

The sausage was the store’s fresh ground country mixed with the ground Italian sausage (spicy).  I put some dehydrated onions on it (I didn’t have any onions around the house and it was 14 degrees out, so I didn’t want to go back out again).  I put some of my homemade mustard based sauce in the middle.

I used hickory smoked, just for the flavor.

I used hickory smoked, just for the flavor.

Fry this bacon as crispy as you can.  It’ll soak up plenty of sausage juice.  As you might notice, I only got about half of it really crispy.

The weave isn't that important, but it does make it pretty.

The weave isn't that important, but it does make it pretty.

I used a combination of Butt Rub and Two Brothers on the outside.  Because of the cold, I didn’t drag my smoker out.  I instead used the soaked chips in foil over the burner of my grill method.  My apologies to you purists.  It was just right after about two hours on medium heat, with one burner turned on and the meat on the other side.  Of course, if it is warmer than 14 degrees, you probably can adjust the time and distance from the fire.

This is what you get:

Prelude to a small riot.

Prelude to a small riot.

I strategically caught the drippings, with plans to make gravy.  After I took it off the grill, it was gone in about 7 minutes.  We then proceeded to sop the drippings with loaf bread.  No gravy, but we were all satisfied.

I’ve never been prouder of my Midwestern friends.

Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

