22
Mar
09

Degree should hire Howie Long

Yesterday I did an old man rant about Chevy’s Girly Man Step commercial.  After 10 more hours of basketball, including extra basketball Friday night for the Wisconsin-FSU and Siena-tOSU games, there is another commercial that just really gets me wondering what marketing people are thinking: the commercial for a deodorant where a guy is hanging on for dear life to a shopping card careening down the highway.  Really?

I get Axe’s theory and demographic:  If you are an 18 year old guy, hot ass girls will just throw it on you when you use Axe.  That is funny and a little cheeky. Boom chica wowow.

I work in a fairly high stress job and work outside a fair amount too.  I don’t need a deodorant to do but two things.  First, keep me from sweating through my shirt.  Second, get me to the end of the day without smelling like a dog’s ass.  That is all.  I don’t need it to make me brave or strong enough to drive my shopping cart the wrong way down an interstate.  I don’t need it to learn to hit sick big air at my local skate park.  Just keep me dry and relatively odor free.  I can get the women I want with those two things (put aside I am married, I got her wearing regular old deodorant and she loves football, is quite the cook, looks great in jeans, and can eloquently enumerate why Mike Adams is an ass).  When I want to learn to skate board or snow board a double black diamond blindfolded while performing something from the kama sutra, I’ll just do it with dry pits and no smell thanks to my average deodorant.

2 Responses to “Degree should hire Howie Long”


  1. March 23, 2009 at 8:47 am

    AXE is for male Education majors. Also, not exempt are Poly Sci majors who have no intent of going to Law School.

  2. 2 bulldoginexile
    March 23, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I meant to mention you can have a chick do the boom chica dance on any given night at Boars Head without any deodorant. You just need three shots of Sauza and $1.50 rail drinks.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

