01
Apr
09

Ok, what’s next?

It wasn’t meant to be.  Anderson decided to stay in Missouri for 2/3 the money.  Nothing wrong with that.  Proven commodity vs. more money.  As others have put it, the decision for Anderson came down to “how big a fellow are you?”  He chose less money and loyalty to what he has built.  I respect that.  Damon did what he could do.  If I know Jimmy Sexton, he didn’t advise his client to take LESS money.  It was all about loyalty and that is that.

To me, Xavier’s Sean Anderson might be  the next to dance with.  Villanova’s coach is very NJ, so he might be out.  Brad Stephens is younger than some of my socks and is a committed Butler guy, to boot.  Jeff Capel is a nice choice, but do we want to be a destination or a placeholder for Duke?  I guess the question then becomes for us “how big a boy are you?”


2 Responses to “Ok, what’s next?”


  1. April 2, 2009 at 7:17 am

    I’ve asked Damon if I can accompany him to Detroit today to lend a hand. He laughed and said he’d bring me back a t-shirt. I laughed and asked if he could get Roy Williams to sign it for me.

    Should be an interesting weekend. And one that is extremely important for our young AD. I’d GLADLY trade that signed t-shirt in for a top-notch coach.

  2. 2 oshea2002
    April 2, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I think if Dawkins succeeds at Stanford, Coach K will make sure he gets the Duke job.

    I’d comment further, but I’m deep into our own “coach watch” at this point. I think ultimately I’d prefer Floyd stay, but if we could get Dixon then I’ll help drive him to Tucson.


Leave a comment


A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search