24
Jun
09

From the Cornfield – Dawg days

Every year, about this time of year, I get home sick.  Not the wishing for a good piece of fried chicken or bbq home sick.  The wishing I was still a kid, dreading tobacco picking and happy the pool is open home sick.  I guess home sick isn’t right.  Longing for simpler (read: less responsible, at least for me, times).

I am not sure why June brings that out in me.  Maybe it is because my birthday is in June.  Maybe it is a week until fireworks and the daylong eat fest that is the 4th of July celebration in my hometown.  Perhaps it is all of those.

We are still two months until football season, baseball is still dragging its way to the All-Star break and it is finally hot here.  Not that I am complaining.  Actually, that might be why I am home sick.  Folks here are ready to roll up the sidewalks because it is finally in the 90s.  Yeah, it is warm and humid.  Get over it.  I’ll take this over eight inches of snow and the mid teens.  For the high.  I often get asked if it is like this where I am from. I like to say this is a nice May day where I am from, adding that people don’t complain about the weather there the way people here do.  I then will turn the heat up just a little, for fun.

So to all of you in South Georgia, go to Summer Waves.  Eat at Willie’s Weenie Wagon.  Go to Jerry J’s for breakfast.  Fish the Satilla.  Play a round at Lakeview.  Hang out at Flash Foods in Patterson.  Enjoy the weather for me, since mine will only last a few weeks.

Oh yeah, tell Momma and them hey, too.

6 Responses to “From the Cornfield – Dawg days”


  1. June 24, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    “I’ve got a better idea: Let’s win the World Series again, put on a marvelous 1996 Summer Olympics and if you’re travelling through the North and see a state flag, turn it upside down.” – Lewis Grizzard.

    Just so happens I’m re-reading Southern By the Grace of God. This post made me think of that quote. My gift to you on (or reasonably close to) your birthday Exhile.

    Almost as tasty and satisfying as one of momma’s homemade biscuits. Enjoy.

  2. 2 bulldoginexile
    June 25, 2009 at 7:02 am

    A few months ago, a co-worker (a Cubs fan) was semi-dogging Atlanta when I dropped “When Chicago wins the world series, hosts an Olympics and has its former President win the Nobel Peace Prize, THEN you can mock Atlanta.” He got really quiet.

    I read “If I Ever Get Back to Georgia, I’m Gonna Nail My Feet to the Ground” every once in a while, just to remind me.

  3. 3 mykiesee
    June 26, 2009 at 10:44 am

    You must be from somewhere around where I grew up and live now. Those things you mention I’ve done many times over. Born and raised in Waycross and now living in Brunswick, with a stint in between at Valdosta and St. Simons Island.

    I’ll never leave. Go Dawgs!

  4. 4 bulldoginexile
    June 26, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    From Patterson (actually, grew up outside Patterson in Peirce County).

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Go Dawgs, indeed.

  5. June 28, 2009 at 6:48 am

    gotta love southeast georgia. The marines took me around the world and I’m so glad to be back in Jesup. I don’t wanna live anywhere else. My birthday was thursday and i went drinkin and swimming in the altamaha river. Screw everybody else, the south is where it’s at and The Georgia Bulldawgs are the greatest team ever. Damn, im ready for september… it’s time to tee it up between the hedges! Goooooo Dawgs! SIC EM!! WOOF WOOF WOOF!!

  6. 6 oshea2002
    June 30, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Nice to see the Kiffer get a headstart on the class of 2013. Hilarious.


Leave a Reply

A Georgia Dawg in the Mid-West alone with his thoughts.

BBQ, Ball and Bets

There's nothing like a sunny fall afternoon, pork BBQ (with mustard sauce, of course!), a pregame tailgate, and...betting online. You heard me right. With a laptop and an internet connection you can check the odds of any game from the 50 yard line. Now that's convenience and will make your tailgate all the more interesting when some dude mentions just how much of a good bet a certain game is.
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Custom Search

